Fast Eddy Championship Round 2

LLwydiarth Hall, Llanfyllin, 21st April 2019

Report and Pictures by Tilde Tighe

The Fast Eddy Club Championships continued on Sunday with Round 2 located a brand-new venue called Llwydiarth Hall near to Llanfyllin. The track provided a long lap with rolling hills and flat-out straights alongside a tricky stream section put in by the experienced Fast Eddy team, which, with the glorious weather, made for an excellent day of racing.

Race winner, Bradley Price

The day began with the Youth race at 9:30 prompt where 4 classes lined up ready to take on the 1 hour and 20 minute race in the already blazing sun. The BW 85-150cc class saw some very competitive racing, but it was clear from the beginning that this was Bradley Price’s race as he maintained the lead throughout to finish 1 lap ahead with the fastest lap time of the race. Morgan Williams challenged Price all morning to take a well-earned second place, with Jack Sandland in third.

The SW 85cc class was the largest of the four and kept everyone on their toes as the top five swapped places multiple times throughout the race, meaning that no one was guaranteed a podium place unless they really put in the work. Although Freestyle Husqvarna team rider Rhydian Rees was first off the line and took the holeshot, it was Freestyle teammate Endaf Hughes that battled him for the lead and kept it for the majority of the race. It was well-deserved too, as everyone could see how fast he was and his ability to tackle obstacles such as the stream section set him in good stead for his win. Despite some switching of places throughout, Hughes was followed closely by Callum Millward who finished in second place, and Antonio Taylor who took third.

Despite the challenging nature of the new track, the 65cc class performed impressively and it was Jayden Jones who came out on top, setting some lap times which even put him alongside some riders in the BW 85-150cc class! William Barnett came second and Huw Griffiths placed third, both having put in their all to finish on the podium alongside Jones. The 2-man auto class also tackled the new track, with some help from Paul Edmondson who had made them an Auto loop, allowing them to get around that bit easier with Harry Jordan first and Selbie Crump second.

11am saw the start of the Adult race with a busy start line as everyone was excited to see what the new venue had to offer them. They were met with even muddier ruts coming out of the stream sections thanks to the race before them, and even longer straights and hills, much to their delight- some riders even commented that it was that fast, they needed seven gears on their bike!

Henry Yardley

The Expert class saw a lineup of 8 talented riders, which from the outset made for an exciting race. Despite this, Henry Yardley dominated the race, unbothered by the pressures of the other Expert riders to win overall on 15 laps, a remarkable feat. However, as the race progressed Ricky Wiggins was catching him up, until he lost his front light, plate and transponder halfway through, meaning that he lost some time but still managed to achieve second place. Third place went to Cole Cookland who had a consistent ride, followed by Jack Ditchfield in fourth and Charlie Chater in fifth. James Palmer was also working his way up through the ranks until he was forced to retire, not wanting to risk injury and jeopardise his British championship.

Jacob James

The Clubman 2T class was much the same as the first round, fought over by Jacob and Adam James, with Jacob starting in front but Adam then leading most of the race. Though Adam James took the win at Round 1, it was Jake who came back fighting and won the class down to pit stops, where he was able to overtake his brother and finish in front. However, Geraint Jones posed a threat to the brothers finishing not far behind Adam to place third. Ethan Pugh gave an impressive ride to achieve the win in the Clubman 4T class, though it was not given up easily by Archie Collier who was leading for a while, followed by Ben Key in second and Collier who ended the race in third place.

Chris Wagstaff

It was an exciting race for the Vets A and B and Over 50 classes who made up the majority of the competitors. With the Over 50’s, Alan Vissian was a good winner but second and third between Shaun James and Andy Harvey went down to the final splash and dash with Andy leaving the pits first and Shaun hot on his heels and able to take him on the last lap for second overall with Andy third. Vets A saw only one competitor, Chris Wagstaff, but he was still competing against Vets B where Kieran Jordan took the win by far with Simon Howden a lap behind in second and Guy Graham in third.

Kieran Jordan

The Youth B class was also a very busy race and Doug Lote didn’t get the best of starts but managed to work his way up to the top spot. He battled all race with Sam Hughes, again with pit stops being the key to the overall in class. Freestyle rider Sion Evans rode extremely well too to round off the top 3. The Sportsman class was also hotly contested but it was Roy Broomfield who came out on top, followed by Hayden Clarke and Robbo White. Alex Clarke claimed success in the Novice class, with Joe Ormsby taking second and Matt Whitehead behind in third.

The club championships continue with Round 3 in two weeks time with a return to this brilliant venue with a completely new track layout. Keep your eyes peeled for more information about Llwydiarth Hall as there is more to come from this venue!


Kids Race:

BW 85-150cc

  1. Bradley Price
  2. Morgan Williams
  3. Jack Sandland

SW 85cc

  1. Endaf Hughes
  2. Callum Millward
  3. Antonio Taylor


  1. Jayden Jones
  2. William Barnett
  3. Huw Griffiths


  1. Harry Jordan
  2. Selbie Crump

Adults Race:


  1. Henry Yardley
  2. Ricky Wiggins
  3. Cole Cookland

Clubman 2T

  1. Jacob James
  2. Adam James
  3. Geraint Jones

Clubman 4T

  1. Ethan Pugh
  2. Ben Key
  3. Archie Collier

Vets A

  1. Chris Wagstaff

Vets B

  1. Kieran Jordan
  2. Simon Howden
  3. Guy Graham

Over 50’s

  1. Alan Vissian
  2. Shaun James
  3. Andy Harvey

Youth B

  1. Doug Lote
  2. Sam Hughes
  3. Sion Evans


  1. Roy Broomfield
  2. Hayden Clarke
  3. Robbo White


  1. Alex Clarke
  2. Joe Ormsby
  3. Matt Whitehead